Musical Tension

I had a strange experience last night.  I was undergoing a lot of stress and my body was tossing and turning.  Then, in a natural, unconscious motion like a stretch, my arms went moved-one went straight  up over me as I lay sideways.  The other went out in front of me, but crooked, so the my hand and fingers were bent back over the space created between the arms.  My fingers began strumming, as if there were strings in that space to be plucked, and as they moved my vocal chords hummed different notes-higher close to my chest and lower farther away.  I tried to stop humming as my jaw’s been sore recently, and could not-my vocals continued to respond only to my arms in particular and the rest of my tense body in general.  Then I just sank into it and allowed my physical self to act out its stresses through this musical movement.  It was a highly strange, therapeutic sensation that is not recreated when I put myself back into that same position.

 

I’m aware that bodies often play large roles in any life stress.  I’ve also heard of musical healing and therapy.  However, last night still seems like quite a strange incident, especially as I do not play the harp, and have not played any other instrument for rather a long time.  I wondered if anyone had any similar experiences, thoughts, or perhaps are aware of any spiritual presences that might manifest themselves in such a way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

